Cellphones are quickly becoming the one of the leading causes of car accidents in California and throughout the United States. Many companies have started their own initiatives and most states have placed restrictions on cellphone use while you are behind the wheel. The use of cellphones on the roadways has clearly become a national epidemic.
It has been proven that using a cellphone while driving can have consequences that are just as serious as driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. For this reason, there are strict state laws restricting cell use while you are driving.
Drivers in California are required to use only hands-free equipment while they are operating a motor vehicle. This equipment keeps your hands on the wheel and your eyes on the road. If you are caught driving with your cellphone in your hand, your first offense comes with a fine of $20 and $50 for every offense after.
California also has specific legislation regarding text messaging. In 2009, a law was passed to prohibit the sending of texts, emails or any other kinds of messages while operating a motor vehicle. If you are caught texting and driving, the fines are $20 for the first offense and $50 for every offense after.
The fines for these traffic violations can quickly add up, but they are much cheaper than the cost of a life. If you were hurt in an accident that involved text messaging or phone use, speaking with an experienced attorneymight be very beneficial.